Chicken and Okra Gumbo

Chicken-and-Okra-Gumbo_exps3201_AC2930252C01_15_1bC_RMS

(Photo by Taste of Home)

If you have never been to New Orleans, you defiantly should. For those who don’t know New Orleans is a fusion of French, Creole and Cajun backgrounds. Several of my family members are from New Orleans area, I credit my cousin for the introduction to several New Orleans classic dishes. She never made this version of Gumbo, but her File’ Gumbo and Red Beans and rice were always my favorites.

I made this recipe for the first time last week, I was so proud of it I took it to work to show a co-worker who was a New Orleans native. He teased me a few weeks back about making Jambalaya in the crock pot.

My family consisting of 2 picky children loved it. My youngest I was surprised ate all of it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 broiler/fryer chicken (2-1/2 to 3 pounds), cut up *** I used 2 1/2 pounds of chicken breast***
  • 2 quarts water
  • 1/4 cup canola oil or bacon drippings
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 2 celery ribs, chopped
  • 1 medium green pepper, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 can (28 ounces) tomatoes, drained *** Diced**
  • 2 cups fresh or frozen sliced okra
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 to 2 teaspoons hot pepper sauce *** I let everyone add their own***
  • 2 tablespoons sliced green onions
  • Minced fresh parsley
  • Hot cooked rice

Steps

Cut you chicken into pieces

img_6718.jpg

I seasoned my chicken with my creole season. I put this stuff on a lot of things.

Boil you chicken in 4 cups/ 2 qts of water for 45 minutes in  large pot covered. Once it is tender pull the chicken out and place in a separate down and place the broth in another.

In the same pot combine bacon drippings or oil, whisk till it is smooth. Cook over medium-high heat for 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Reduce heat to medium. Cook and stir about 5 minutes more or until mixture is reddish-brown (the color of a penny). Turn the heat to high. Stir in 2 cups reserved broth. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Add the onions, celery, green pepper and garlic; cook and stir for 5 minutes.

img_6722

Add the tomatoes, okra, bay leaves, basil, salt, pepper and pepper sauce. Cover and simmer for 1 hour. Discard bay leaves. Garnish with green onions and parsley. Add the chicken the last 3 minutes so the chicken does not dry out .Serve with rice.

 

 

img_6724

I was able to freeze the reminder of the broth and also freeze the left over gumbo for later. You can make this in a crock pot just make you roux before placing in the crock pot.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑