Baked Ham and Colby Sandwiches

Baked-Ham-and-Colby-Sandwiches_EXPS_MTCBBZ17_39698_C02_22_2b

(Photo curtesy of Taste of Home)

I seriously  eat these morning, noon and night. When I first made these I wasn’t sure how they would turn out. These have now become a quick fix dinner favorite when I am rushed from time after getting home from work.  These sandwiches can easily make good fixes for kids lunches through out the week or a nice cold picnic item.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons prepared mustard
  • 1 tablespoon dried minced onion
  • 1 tablespoon poppy seeds
  • 2 to 3 teaspoons sugar
  • 8 hamburger buns, split
  • 8 slices Colby cheese
  • 16 thin slices deli ham (about 1 pound)
  • 1-1/2 cups shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese

Pre heat the oven to 350

In a small bowl combined the first 5 ingredients mix until blended together.


Now if you like me and tend to deviate from a recipe I used Hawaiian sweet rolls. I think the flavor in these rolls brings something out that just plain bread doesn’t.


What you will want to do is cut your rolls in half. I left all of mine together just separating the top and bottom. Place the bottom half in a baking dish big enough to hold them. With a basting brush, brush half of the butter mixture on the bottom half of the rolls.

Time to layer, start with you Colby cheese layer one slice, after you have layered with cheese add the ham I did three slices of ham each across the attached rolls. Finally sprinkle the mozzarella cheese on top of the ham and replace the top half of the rolls. Brush the butter mixture on top of the rolls and place in the oven for 10-15 minutes enough to melt the mozzarella cheese.

 

I paired mine with my Paprika Parmesan fries

Note: I used honey ham, I loved the flavor of the honey ham vs the deli ham. I used 3 teaspoons of sugar, spicy brown mustard. Since poppy seeds where hard to come by I used minced garlic instead, also forgot the minced onion at the store and used onion powder. I tops with parsley .

 

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑